---
title: "Connect for ArcGIS - App Workflows"
canonical: "https://help.cartinuum.com/space/GC1/4172415058/Connect%20for%20ArcGIS%20-%20App%20Workflows"
format: markdown
---
App workflows in Connect for ArcGIS enable you to pass information about selected map features to a third-party application for further processing. Optionally, they can open the third-party application within the user's current context.

For example, you can jump straight to a customer record in Salesforce after clicking on their location on the map, or trigger a workflow to send letters to property owners in your ERP system.

An app workflows is configured in the Connect for ArcGIS admin dashboard and then becomes available for users of the widget.

## Layer Link or Feature Layer

When you add a Workflow you can choose whether it will be needs to use data from a feature layer or whether data will need to be fetched from a previously defined layer link definition. If all of the data required for your workflow is held in feature attributes you don't need a layer link.

- ArcGIS Feature Layer – the workflow will be shown for all selected features from the selected layer. The workflow will use attributes stored on the feature layer to generate the launch URL.
- Layer Link Definition – the workflow will be shown for any records returned from the layer link for the selected map features. Use this option when you only want to enable the workflow if certain record types exist or where the workflow needs to use attributes from the layer link data to populate the launch URL.

## Adding a Workflow

1. Navigate to the **Workflows** option on the left-hand menu and then click on the **Add workflow**
2. Give your workflow a friendly name - this will be shown to the widget users.
3. Choose whether you want to connect your workflow to a layer link or feature layer, and select the layer or link.
4. Select the workflow type you want to use. The list of available workflows will depend on the connectors that you have subscribed to. Each workflow type will have a different set of configuration properties. See [App Workflow Catalogue](https://bgt-innovation.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/GC1/pages/4172677221) for more details.

![image](media://d187322d-eb4f-4b18-96f0-c7ee6b15e2b2)


## Hiding a Workflow button

By default, once a workflow has been saved it will immediately become available on any Connect for ArcGIS widget where the web application includes the related feature layer or link definition. You can hide a workflow for a specific web application by configuring the widget properties in the application.