---
title: "Connect for ArcGIS - User management"
canonical: "https://help.cartinuum.com/space/GC1/4172546180/Connect%20for%20ArcGIS%20-%20User%20management"
format: markdown
---
After onboarding has completed, you will find two user groups in your ArcGIS portal. These groups are specifically utilized to manage users access and permissions for Connect for ArcGIS.

## Managing user access

You can manage user access for Connect for ArcGIS from the ArcGIS portal itself. You will find two groups, "**Connect for ArcGIS Administrators**" and "**Connect for ArcGIS Users**" in ArcGIS portal.

1. Navigate to Groups in ArcGIS portal, and select any one of the groups to start adding or removing members.
2. Go to Connect for ArcGIS's admin console, then navigate to Seat details where you can find a list of "User Activity" and click "Refresh List" to ensure that the users are added in the list.

## Assigning permission level

User can have access to Connect for ArcGIS widget and/or Connect for ArcGIS admin console, depending on the permission level assigned to user. Adding users in the **Connect for ArcGIS Administrators** group will let users having access to Connect for ArcGIS admin console, whereas adding user to Connect for ArcGIS Users group will allow the user to use the Connect for ArcGIS widget only.

1. Navigate to Groups in ArcGIS portal, choose the group by permission level you want to assign, and add user to the specific group.
2. Go to Connect for ArcGIS's admin console, then navigate to Seat details where you can find a list of "User Activity" and click "Refresh List" to ensure that the users are added in the list.

## Monitoring user allocation and activity

In the Connect for ArcGIS admin console, an Admin user of Connect for ArcGIS can review the users allocated to access Connect for ArcGIS and their last activity using the widget. This will provide an overview to Admin in determining which user need to be removed from the list. Clicking "Refresh list" will ensure that the list of users are updated and assigned accordingly.

![image-20260109-033241.png](media://c75d93dd-c090-4d56-923c-b36d559e3ebb)

## Troubleshooting

### User limit exceeded

The number of assigned user in both Groups have exceeded the allocated purchased seats. Remove inactive users or contact your Esri Reseller to purchase additional seats.

### Unlicensed user / Inactive user

User is not registered in either one of Connect for ArcGIS's groups (Connect for ArcGIS Administrators or Connect for ArcGIS Users) in ArcGIS Portal, admin must add user in either one of the group in order to allocate seat for user.

### Contacting support

If you have any issues please [contact our support team](https://bgt-innovation.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/GC1/pages/4172677159).